Home Training Programs Successful Case Public Seminar About Us Contact Us
Training Programs
 
Innovation
kepner & Fourie
Professional Training Skills
Communication Skills and Applications
Management Skills
Board Business Simulations
Customer service and Sales
Personal Growth
 
 
Home >> Training Programs
 

FPC's course system is established on the understanding of knowledge-based work.
Any knowledge-based work can be divided into three key phases, i.e. decision, implementation and delivery. The results of the work can be explained with the underlying reasons in the three phases. Based on the three phases, knowledge workers are required to be competent in eight aspects to ensure the delivery of desired results. FPC developed a series of courses to develop the abilities in the eight aspects.

Three stages of knowledge-based work

All work, in agriculture, manufacturing, information processing or in any other form, has three different phases.
Firstly, one must determine the content and object, i.e. what he wants to grow, manufacture or process.
All work should be based on the ending.
What result do we expect after we put our efforts into the work? For farming or manufacturing jobs, it is quite clear and direct. However, for knowledge-based work or services, it is often vague and unclear. Plagued by short-term work on hand, knowledge workers seem to get lost in terms of the long-term goals.
Once the decision is made, the work should be implemented. The land needs to be tilled and cultivated; the products need to be manufactured and the information needs to be processed and transacted.
Once the job is completed, the results need to be delivered to internal or external customers. Until then can we know whether the job meets the demand of the customers.
In 1920s, Alfred Sloan pioneered in organizational development in General Motors, whereas before that people tended to consider the three phases as a whole, which means that a worker could complete the three phases on his own. The "artisan" thinking was prevalent in a vast majority of workplaces. Sloan restructured the workplaces, resulting in three mutually exclusive groups, with each focusing on fulfilling one of the three phases.
In manufacturing industry, these three phases are relatively simple. As work is completed on the assembly line, each employee receives "input" at different stages in the process, and they are responsible for changing or processing the product before they pass it down to the next stage. Any decision for the improvement or change of the processes completely lies in the management level. Although the campaign of all-around quality management has changed this type of work, it does not change the basic processes.
Knowledge-based work has the same three phases: decision, implementation and delivery. But in each phase there exist more complex problems.

Decision
For knowledge workers, their work processes start with multiple "input": telephone, people, electronic documents, faxes, reports, to name but a few. For knowledge workers, the first step is to analyze. Similar to other work, decision-making should be based on the understanding of the final results; otherwise there would be no analytical standards in the face of the flood of information. Once there is no effective standard, this information will soon become rampant and out of control. In order to make wise and effective decisions, it is necessary to obtain new or different information, which would further increase the difficulty of the problem. Thus, the decision-making process would become extremely complex.

Implementation
Once the decision is made, the implementation is by no means an easy task for knowledge workers, as their job is to transform the "object" rather than simply increase its value. For example, a viewpoint may be transformed into a memorandum, and a plan may come from a fax. This is not as simple as adding something to the existing work. In order to complete the work, knowledge workers usually have to deal with other people; but many people are not aware of how important it is to influence others if they want to do well in their work.
The neglect of communication or mutual influence is known as "white hole": the nodes on the corporate structure diagram, which are often lost in specific knowledge-based jobs such as projects, memoranda and reports. We now know that all work is part of the system and it occurs in a certain process. When a problem arises, more often than not it is one process or a series of processes, rather than people, that go out of control.

Delivery
There is no doubt that the delivery of knowledge work is as complex as the first two phases. Writing a report or a plan alone and then turning it in is far from enough and these will only disappear in the "white hole". Knowledge workers in the delivery process must play the role of "executor". They need to actively get involved and see to it that their results can be effectively "transferred" to the appropriate recipients: the customers (internal or external customers).
What drives the knowledge-based work forward is the continuous improvement and learning by individuals and companies.
Once we are clear of the framework of knowledge-based work, we will have a deeper understanding of the processes that drive the work forward. After three years of careful research and investigation, we have identified eight processes that support all knowledge-based work. Each process is driven by a set of core capabilities, which mean a set of skills and abilities required for the completion of a process. For instance, the core capability required for the construction of a hut is to knock nails into wood with a hammer.

Eight capabilities for knowledge-based work

1. Identify the values, develop the vision and coordinate the two sides (draw up strategy)
Values and vision are a valuable "filter" for individual and organizational decision-making. Values explain why individuals or the company do what they are doing, and the vision indicates where we are going. All work must be based on the ending. This is obvious in the manufacturing sector, but when we deal with knowledge work it is not that clear. Few knowledge workers would stop and ask "Why?" or “What results do I want to achieve?" However, these are crucial questions for us to answer if we want to make effective decisions.
To put it simply, this process is the first step of highly-efficient work, requiring us to find out the target direction (where) and the reason (why). In this step, the goals and purposes of the work or the team are clearly defined.

2. Strategic Thinking (set goals)
Having a clear sense of direction or mission is the second important “filter” for effective decision-making. It shows that we are doing. It is strategic thinking that converts the vision into action on a daily basis. We must have a clearly-stated strategic plan to tell us what we are doing today and what we will do in the foreseeable future. We must continue to explore the future, to ensure that we are following the most effective way that leads us to the destination.
Therefore, strategic thinking refers to the ability of setting goals or final results, and drawing up the plans based on the goals and the final results. This step is used to determine the contents (what) and the methods (how)of our work. If there is no comprehensive plan, even the best wish is of no value. Without the guideline of the plan, the team will fall apart and lose its focus.

3. Focus on key resources and maintain flexibility (Plan and Organize)
Once the mission is identified, we must ensure that the appropriate resources (people, fund, equipments, time)are mobilized to support the fulfillment of the mission. In this way, we can focus on the quantification of the plans and ensure the effective use of scarce resources. There exists an inherent contradiction in this process. In order to achieve fruitful results, you must pool the resources; while at the same time you must maintain flexibility to make the best use of the opportunities. Only by consciously and continuously checking the allocation of resources, can you ensure the focus and flexibility.
We ought to be able to pool the limited resources that can be mobilized, and to maximize the potential of resources through creatively using resources. Resource management is a key part of effective work.
The above three processes constitute the "decisive" part of knowledge-based work. However, these skills are exactly what ordinary individuals are lacking. Usually we are concerned about how to make people efficient operators rather than decision-makers. In the traditionally hierarchical structure, it has always been the case that a few people decide the direction for the majority to follow. However, in the new context of empowerment, all individuals must get involved in their own decision-making, in order to perform effectively in a teamwork environment.

4. Priority management (manage effectiveness)
All knowledge-based work requires people to continuously balance the urgency and importance of the task or project. Effective priority management enables the company and individuals to do it right at a time, which is the ultimate test of the effectiveness of the work. The basis of priority management stems from vision, values and mission.
Priority management refers to the ability to deal with daily specific work. No matter what posts people hold, how to control the daily activities is essential for success. We must learn how to deal with multiple tasks, how to prioritize them and ensure that there are no negligence and omissions.

5. Balance quality and quantity: Q2 factor (customer orientation)
Q2 factor makes it possible to evaluate the results of work from two sides: how much work (quantity) has been done and how well (quality)it has been done. For most knowledge workers, high performance is the combination of quality and quantity, which is Q 2. Those who conduct and receive knowledge work must have a clear understanding of Q2. This process has a controlling effect in the knowledge-based work to a large extent.
It is a precondition for effective workers to understand the requirement of the quality and quantity of work. We must ensure that customers become the decision-makers of these factors, so we must learn to find out who are the most important customers and how to meet their needs.
"Priority management" and "Balance quality and quantity" constitute the "implementation" part of any work. We must help every individual to be aware of these skills and enhance their skills in these areas, because they are essential for the success of individuals or teams.

6. Awareness of master, sense of responsibility and bearing the consequences (promising results)
The goal of this process is to establish the awareness of master in every piece of work, regardless of their levels of posts, and regardless of difficulty and skills of the work. Managers and coaches ought to build partnerships with the actual implementer of the task and ensure that they have the awareness of master and devote themselves to the work, which can also help individuals and teams to develop a sense of responsibility and a positive attitude to bearing the consequences.
Here we explore how to obtain and give people the awareness of master, sense of responsibility and dependability. According to the skills in this process, individuals are differentiated into two categories: those who are passively involved and those who take the initiative to join in. In the context of empowerment, these skills are essential.

7. Influence others, and maintain sound interpersonal relationships (influence others)
To influence is a complex process that requires strong ability of communication and consultation. In flat corporate structure, the skills of influencing have become more important than ever. No knowledge workers can make outstanding achievements in the isolated state. As a team member, they must be able to influence the behavior and attitudes of others. The goal of this process is to fill the organization's "white hole".
For a closely collaborative team, the close cooperation of individuals is significant to the overall effectiveness of the team. As you have to deal with vastly different characters, this process is extraordinarily important.
"Awareness of master" and "Influence others" constitute the "delivery" part of knowledge-based work. We have to master these skills if we want to improve our capabilities in project management. If we fail to deliver the work satisfactorily to the next section, it may lead to omissions, delay, poor communication and coordination and it is impossible to build teams.

8. Continuous improvement of employees, product quality and process (continuous progress)
The purpose of the last set of skills is to ensure competitive advantage in a highly competitive environment. The power to drive the entire knowledge-based economy is the ability and desire for continuous improvement: the continuous improvement of everything in the organization. We must constantly ask ourselves whether the existing processes as well as our actions are truly effective? Knowledge workers must have the determination and confidence to challenge the status quo, to maintain competitive edge. Failure to maintain the growth and development of organizations and individuals could only result in one thing: gradually shrinking.

首页 课程系列 成功案例 公开班 培训资讯 学员中心 关于竞越 招才纳贤
  中文版 | ENGLISH  
竞越课程系列
 
创新
思维技术
专业培训技能
沟通与应用
管理技能
沙盘实战模拟
销售与客服
个人成长
最新课程特别回馈:精彩讲座
 
 
首页 >>课程系列
 

竞越的课程体系建立在对知识工作的理解之上。
任何知识工作可以分成决定、执行和交付等三个关键阶段,成效好坏可以从这三个阶段找到背后的原因。在三个阶段基础上,知识工作者需要具备八个方面的能力保证交付期望的结果。竞越发展了一系列课程开发八个方面的能力。
(移动鼠标至饼图,会出现相关课程,点击课程名进入对应课程介绍)

知识工作的三个阶段

所有形态工作,不论是农业、制造业或信息处理,都有三个各不相同的阶段。
首先,必须 决定 我要种植、制造或处理的内容和对象。
所有工作都应当从结局出发
付出努力之后我们期待什么结果?对于种植业或制造业的工作来说,这是相当明确和直接的。但对于知识工作或服务工作来说,它却往往模糊不清。受到手头短期工作的困扰,知识工人似乎失去了长远目标。
一旦做出决策,工作就应当被 执行 。土地要去开垦和耕作,产品要去生产制造,信息要去加工处理。
一旦工作完成了,成果就需要被交付 。交付对象既可以是外部客户,也可以是内部客户。到这时可以知道,工作究竟能不能满足客户的需求。
二十年代Alfred Sloan在通用汽车做了组织开发工作,而在此之前人们总是把上述三个工作阶段合而为一,换言之,单个劳动者也能完成这三个阶段。在绝大多数工作场所存在着“工匠”思维。Sloan对于工作场所的再组造成了彼此排斥三个组别,各自集中完成三个阶段中的一个。
在制造业,这三个阶段相对简单。工作是在流水线上完成的,每个员工在流程的不同阶段接受“输入”,负责对它做出改变或增加,然后再往下传。对流程的改进或变化的决定,完完全全是管理层的责任。全面质量管理运动改变了这类工作方式,但并没有改变它的基本流程。
知识工作也有同样的三个阶段结构:决定,执行和交付,但每个阶段都有更复杂的问题存在。

决定
对于知识工人来说,工作流程往往始于多个“输入”。比如:电话、人、电子文件、传真或者报告。对知识工人而言,第一步是分析。与所有其他工作一样,决策的制定应当建立在对最终结果的理解之上。否则,面对潮水般汹涌而来的信息就没有了解析的标准。而一旦没有有效的标准,这些信息很快就会泛滥成灾。为了做出明智、有效的决策,十分有必要获取新的或不同的信息,而这就又进一步加大了问题的难度。于是,决策过程变得极为复杂。

执行
一旦做出决策,执行过程对知识工人来说也决非易事。他们做的是给生产对象转型的工作,而不是简单地对它增值。比如,一个观点可能被转型为备忘录,一个策划可能来自一份传真。这都不是给现存工作添加些什么东西那么简单。为了完成工作,知识工人一般得与别人打交道。许多人意识不到,要想作好工作,影响他人有多么重要。
人们常常把忽视交流和相互影响称为“白洞”:公司结构图上的结点,也就是项目、备忘录、报告这些知识工作的实体常常丢失的地方。我们现在知道,所有工作都是系统的一部分,所有工作都发生在某一流程之中。当问题发生时,失控的往往不是人,而是失控的一个或一系列流程。

交付
毫无疑问,知识工作的交付与前两个阶段一样复杂。单单写个报告、计划然后交上去是不够的。它们只会消失在白洞中。知识工人在交付工作时还必须扮演“执行者”的角色。他们需要积极参与并督促他们的成果能有效地“转化”到适当的接受人:客户手中(内部或外部客户)。
驱动知识工作向前发展的动力,是个人及公司的持续改善和学习。
一旦清楚了知识工作的构架,对于驱动它的各个流程就能有更深的理解。经过三年的认真调查和研究,我们找出了支持所有知识工作的八大流程。每一流程又由一套核心能力驱动。“核心能力”即完成一个流程所需具备的一套技巧或能力。比如:建造木屋所需的核心能力就是用锤子把钉子钉入木头的能力。

知识工作的八大能力

1. 认清价值、形成远景,协同价值和远景(制定战略)
价值和远景为个人和组织的决策提供了非常宝贵的“过滤器”。价值说明个人或公司为什么要做所做的事,而远景则说明我们要走向哪里。所有工作必须从结局出发。 在制造业这一点比较明显,但当我们处理知识工作时就不那么清楚了。 很少知识工人会停下来问 “为什么?”“我做的工作要实现什么结果?”但是,若要做出有效决策,这是我们必须回答的关键问题。
简单地说,这个流程是指彻底摸清目标方向(哪里)及原因(为什么)的流程,这是高效工作的第一步。在这一步定义明确工作或团队的目标和目的。

2. 战略思考(确定目标)
具有清晰的方向感或使命是有效决策的第二个重要过滤器。它表明我们现在在做什么。正是战略思维把远景转化为每日的行动。必须有一份清楚说明我们今天在做什么,以及可见的将来要做什么的战略规划。我们必须不断探询未来,保证我们所做的事是以最有成效的途径帮助我们通向目的地。
所以,战略思考就是指确立目标或最终结果,并围绕目标和最终结果做计划方案的能力,这一步是用来决定工作的内容(什么)和方法(如何)。如果没有周全计划的支持,再好的愿望也毫无价值。没有计划的指引,团队就会分崩离析、失去重点。

3. 集中关键资源,同时保持灵活性(计划组织)
一但使命明确,我们必须保证集中合适的资源(人,钱,资本设备,时间),支持使命的实现。这样就使精力集中于规划过程的定量方面,并保证有效地使用稀缺资源。这一过程存在着一个内在矛盾。为了得到卓有成效的结果, 你必须集中资源;同时,你又必须保持灵活性以最大限度利用机会。只有自觉不断地检查资源的配置,才能够保证集中与灵活。
我们应当具备这种能力:集中可调动的有限资源,同时通过创造使用资源,尽可能发挥资源的潜力。资源管理是有效工作的关键部分。
以上三个流程构成了知识工作的“决定”部分。而这些技能却正是普通个体所缺乏的。通常我们关心的是如何使人们成为高效的操作者,而不是决策者。在传统的等级结构中,一向是少数人指路多数跟风。而在今天授权赋能的新环境中,所有个体必须参与于自己有关的决策,以达到在团队合作环境中有效运作之目的。

4. 优先管理(管理成效)
所有知识工作都要求能不断平衡任务或项目的急迫性与重要性。有效的优先管理使公司和个人一次做对。这是对工作成效的最终检验。优先管理的依据源于远景、价值和使命。
即处理日常具体工作的能力。无论身居何位,控制日常活动对成功至关重要。我们必须学会如何在众多的工作中游刃有余,必须学会确定先后主次,并确保没有疏漏。

5. 平衡质量和数量:Q2因子(顾客导向)
Q2 因子使工作结果可以从做了多少工作 ( 数量 ) 和工作做得如何(质量)两方面进行衡量。 对于大多数知识工人来说,高绩效是质量与数量的结合,即Q2,所有知识工作的完成者和接受者对Q2必须有清楚的认识。这一流程在知识工作中很大程度上起控制作用。
了解工作的质量和数量要求已经成为有成效的工作者的重要条件。我们必须确保让顾客成为这些因素的决定者,因此我们必须学会如何发现谁是最重要的客户,以及如何满足其需求。
从“优先管理”到“平衡质量和数量”构成了任何工作的“执行”部分。我们必须帮助每个个体意识到这些技能,并增进其在这些领域的技能,因为这对个人或团队的成功都是必不可少的。

6. 主人意识、责任感和承担后果(承诺结果)
该流程的目标是建立每件工作的主人意识,不论在什么管理层,也不论难度和技能有多么不同。经理和教练都要与实际执行该项工作的人形成伙伴关系,确保他们投入工作,对工作有主人意识。由此也能形成个人与团队的责任感和担当后果的心态。
在这里我们探讨的是如何获得和给予人们主人精神、责任感和可依赖性。这个流程的技能把个体分化成了两类:被动卷入者和主动投入者。在授权赋能的环境中,这种技能不可或缺。

7. 影响他人,并维持良好的人际关系(影响他人)
影响是一个复杂的过程,需要有较高的交流和协商能力。公司架构扁平化后,施加影响的技能变得比以往任何时候都更为重要。没有一个知识工人能在孤立状态取得杰出成就。作为团队的一员,他们必须能够影响他人的行为和态度。该流程的目标是填补组织中的“白洞”。
对于一个紧密协作的团队环境而言,同广泛的个体密切合作对整体的成效关系重大。由于你必须与千差万别的个性打交道,因此,本流程具有极端重要性。
承担主人精神和影响他人构成了知识工作的“交付”部分。如果我们想要提高项目的管理能力,就必须擅长这些技能。如果不能圆满把工作交付给下一个环节,就会导致工作疏漏、脱期、沟通协调不良,势必无法建立团队。

8. 持续提高员工、产品质量和流程(持续进步)
最后一组技能的目的是确保在高度竞争的环境下具备竞争优势。驱动整个知识型经济的动力是持续不断改进的能力和愿望:不断改进组织中的每一件事。我们必须不断问自己,现有的流程是否真正有效,我们的行动是否有效?知识工人必须具备向现状挑战的决心与自信,以保持竞争优势。不能保持成长与发展的组织和个人只有一个下场:逐渐萎缩。

 
版权所有 © 2011 竞越顾问公司 粤ICP备05137830号 法律声明 | 网站地图 | 联系我们